PRESS RELEASE: BNT Elects New Council

PRESS RELEASE: BNT Elects New Council


PRESS RELEASE: BNT Elects New Council

Nassau, Bahamas – The Bahamas National Trust (BNT) held its Annual General Meeting (AGM) and Spring Council meetings commemorating the 60th anniversary of the organization, also electing its new Council and officers for the year and reviewed current issues and work being done by the Trust.

On Friday, the Council elected their new Officers for the 2019 – 2020 year.  The newly elected Executive Team is Geoffrey Andrews, President, Colin Higgs, Deputy President, Andy Fowler, Honorary Secretary and Simon Townend , Honorary Treasurer. The newly elected BNT Council is charged with the responsibility of giving direction for the Bahamas National Trust. On Saturday the Council participate in special Board Training Exercise facilitated by Katha Kissman of BoardSource. BoardSource is a national organization working to strengthen nonprofit board leadership.

Photo 1 – Newly  Elected Council Members for the BNT

The Appointed Members of Council are:  Livingston Marshall, PhD., Governor General’s Appointee, Edward Fields, Governor Generals Appointee, Felicity Arengo, PhD. American Museum of Natural History, Matthew Jeffery, National Audubon, Brian Carlstrom, US Parks Service, Edison Deleveaux, Department of Agriculture and Marine Resources, Janet Johnson, Ministry of Tourism, Pamela Reid, PhD, University of Miami, Christopher Russell, Ministry of the Environment, Karen Bjorndal, PhD. University of Florida, Rodney Smith, PhD. University of the Bahamas, Sherry Albury, Ministry of Education, Peter Marra, PhD, Smithsonian Institution, and David Oehler, PhD, Wildlife Conservation Society.

The AGM also provided an opportunity for the BNT to recognize outstanding support from individuals and corporate Bahamas. This year the BNT recognized two outstanding volunteer initiatives for their contribution to the Exuma Cays Land and Sea Park: The Bahamas Poker Run and the Silver Fox Fishing Tournament.

“I would like at this time to commend the BNT’s hardworking staff who give many unpaid hours to the national park system of The Bahamas”

– Her Excellency Dame Margurite Pindling, Governor General of the Bahamas

Her Excellency gave an overview of the BNT’s work for the year, highlighting major accomplishments in all of the national parks in the Bahamas, especially the Exuma Cays Land and Sea Park for winning the Global Ocean Refuge (Glores) Award, an award only given to marine protected areas (MPAs) that meet the highest science based standards for biodiversity protection and best practices for management and enforcement.

A special guest speaker was also a part of this year’s AGM.  Dr. G. Carleton Ray, founding member of the Bahamas National Trust spoke on the project he started from the 1950’s which included the importance of identifying and protecting National Park Systems in the Bahamas.  He also addressed the importance of saving the lives of the species Bahamians love so much namely the conch and grouper. Dr. Ray was recently recognized for half a century of environmental work by being awarded the inaugural NOGI Award by the Academy of Underwater Arts and Sciences.

Photo 2 – (left to right) Eric Carey Executive Director of the BNT, Geoffrey Andrews newly appointed President -the Bahamas National Trust, Janet Johnson Outgoing President – the Bahamas National Trust, Her Excellency Dame Marguerite Pindling, & Dr. G. Carlton Ray Founding Member of the Bahamas National Trust.


“Support from our corporate partners is essential for the success of our events and programmes. We are extremely grateful for the support provided by these very special corporate citizens”.

– Janet Johnson, President of the BNT.

In closing, she thanked staff, members and council for all of their hard work and support during her Presidency and pledged to continue to support the work of the BNT.





This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.